- The $398 Bundle: What the Sticker Price Covers
- What the Issuer Has Not Published
- How Eligibility Rules Affect Your Real Cost
- Retake Purchases and Your Budget
- The Proctor Requirement and Hidden Logistics
- Five-Year Renewal: The $102 Fee and 50 Points
- Your Time Investment: Roughly 40 Hours of Review Material
- Sample Total-Cost Scenarios
- Getting Your Employer to Pay
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The current official AHLEI bundle (application, online study guide and exam) is listed at USD $398.
- The exam is 100 questions, two hours, 70% to pass, and requires an approved proctor.
- Two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval; the retake fee is not verified.
- Five-year renewal currently lists USD $102 plus 50 recertification points within each five-year cycle.
The $398 Bundle: What the Sticker Price Covers
The Certified Hospitality Sales Professional credential is administered by AHLEI (the educational institute of the American Hotel & Lodging Association) and endorsed by AHLA. The current official product on the AHLEI shop bundles three things into one purchase: the application, the online study guide and the exam itself, delivered through the ExamFlex platform. The listed price is USD $398.
That single figure is the anchor for every budget you will build. Unlike credentials that charge separately for application review, study materials and exam seats, the CHSP presents these as one line item. For a candidate comparing options, that simplicity is a genuine advantage: there is no separate application fee to track down and no need to buy a third-party textbook just to sit the exam.
| Cost Component | What the Current Official Product Shows |
|---|---|
| Application, online study guide and exam bundle | USD $398 |
| Member vs. non-member pricing split | Not publicly disclosed |
| Exam-only price (without the study guide) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Retake fee | Two retake purchases allowed within one year; fee unverified |
| Five-year renewal | USD $102 |
| Proctor fee | Not published; a proctor is required |
What the Issuer Has Not Published
A trustworthy cost guide should be as clear about what is unknown as what is known. Several price details that candidates often ask about are simply not public:
- Member versus non-member rates. The product page shows one price. Whether an AHLA or AHLEI member discount applies is not stated.
- Exam-only pricing. If you already hold study materials and want to sit the exam alone, no separate exam-only price is verified.
- Retake fees. The program allows two retake purchases within one year, but the current retake fee is not verified.
- Proctor costs. A proctor is required, but the issuer does not publish what a proctor may charge, if anything.
Rather than guessing at these numbers, plan with the confirmed $398 and treat the rest as line items to verify. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our complete ROI analysis of the CHSP certification and the CHSP salary guide put the cost into a career context.
How Eligibility Rules Affect Your Real Cost
The sticker price assumes your application is approved. Eligibility is therefore a cost issue as much as a qualification issue: paying for a bundle you cannot yet use is the most avoidable waste. The current global issuer requirements are:
- At least 50% of your duties in qualifying hospitality sales, and
- Six months in position.
Two pathways shorten the time requirement. Holding a Supervisor, Manager, Department Head or Executive Certification eliminates the time requirement, and an accredited academic degree eliminates the six months. Importantly, these reductions do not waive the qualifying-duties requirement or the application approval step. You still need to be doing real hospitality sales work, and your application still has to be approved.
No universal degree, experience-hour, training-hour or reference-count requirement has been verified for the CHSP. That means you should not budget for a college course or a mandatory classroom program as a prerequisite. For a deeper walkthrough, see CHSP requirements: eligibility, prerequisites and how to qualify.
Retake Purchases and Your Budget
The current global issuer product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. This is a meaningful safety net, because it caps the number of attempts built into your timeline: your first sitting plus up to two retakes. It also starts a clock. The one-year window runs from application approval, not from the day you finally feel ready.
Because the retake fee is unverified, the prudent approach is to build a contingency line into your budget instead of assuming retakes are free. If you pass the first time, you simply do not spend it. If you do not, you will not be forced to scramble. To gauge how likely you are to need that cushion, read how hard the CHSP exam really is and what is publicly known in the CHSP pass rate analysis. Note that the issuer has not disclosed an observed pass rate, so any specific figure you encounter elsewhere should be treated with caution.
The Proctor Requirement and Hidden Logistics
The exam is delivered through ExamFlex in online or print format, and a required, approved proctor must supervise. This is the single most overlooked cost-and-logistics factor in the program. The issuer does not publish proctor fees, nor does it publish detailed remote-proctor rules, so you should resolve the practical questions before you pay:
- Who will serve as your proctor, and does your employer or a local institution already have an approved person?
- Does your proctor charge a fee, and is that fee reimbursable?
- Are calculators, notes or open-book materials permitted? These rules are not verified, so ask rather than assume.
- What equipment is needed if you test online versus in print?
Candidates whose employer has an HR or training department often find the proctor arrangement is straightforward and free. Independent candidates should investigate early. Scheduling flexibility is covered in CHSP exam dates, testing windows and scheduling.
Five-Year Renewal: The $102 Fee and 50 Points
The CHSP is not a one-time purchase. It carries a five-year renewal cycle with a current official fee of USD $102. Beyond the fee, the current issuer renewal guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and the same requirement repeats every five years thereafter.
Over a full career, treat renewal as a recurring cost: the $102 fee every five years, plus whatever professional-development activity you pursue to accumulate points. Many working sales professionals earn qualifying activity as a natural byproduct of their jobs, which keeps the true incremental cost low, but the evidence must still meet the issuer's standards.
Your Time Investment: Roughly 40 Hours of Review Material
Money is only half the cost; time is the other half. The CHSP includes approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material. That figure describes study time, not exam duration, and it is not a universal mandatory training minimum. The exam itself is 100 questions in two hours with a 70% passing score. The current item format is not specified by the product, and the scored/unscored split is not publicly disclosed.
The study content is organized into fourteen subordinate topics under two parent groups. These are published exam competencies, not an official weighted blueprint, so no domain carries a published percentage. Use them as a roadmap rather than a point allocation.
Group One: Markets and Market Segments (Topics 1-7)
These topics build your understanding of who buys hospitality products and how to approach them.
- Introduction to Hospitality Marketing and Sales
- The Marketing Plan: The Cornerstone of Sales
- Marketing to Business Travelers
- Marketing to Leisure Travelers
- Marketing to Travel Agents
- Marketing to Meeting Planners
- Marketing to Special Segments
Group Two: Sales Functions (Topics 8-14)
These topics cover the day-to-day mechanics of running and executing hospitality sales.
- Managing the Marketing and Sales Office
- Reservations
- Revenue Management
- Personal Sales
- Telephone Sales
- Internal Marketing and Sales
- Marketing Catered Events and Meeting Rooms
The structure is fourteen topics, not sixteen domains, and the two group headings are not additional topics. For a full breakdown of each area, see the complete guide to all 14 CHSP content areas.
Scheduling the 40 Hours Around Your Fee
Because your retake window is tied to application approval, it pays to pace your review sensibly after you buy. One approach is to front-load the revenue and segment topics, which tend to be conceptually dense for people who sell by instinct, and leave the more familiar operational topics for later.
Foundations and Segments
- Introduction to Hospitality Marketing and Sales
- The Marketing Plan: The Cornerstone of Sales
- Business, leisure, travel agent, meeting planner and special segments
Sales Office and Revenue
- Managing the Marketing and Sales Office
- Reservations and Revenue Management
Selling Skills and Events
- Personal Sales and Telephone Sales
- Internal Marketing and Sales
- Marketing Catered Events and Meeting Rooms
For a fuller approach to preparation, see the CHSP study guide on passing the first time and the quick-reference CHSP cheat sheet. When you want to test yourself under realistic conditions, our CHSP practice test is a low-cost way to find weak topics before you commit exam time. Knowing the target helps too; the CHSP passing score breakdown explains what the 70% threshold means in practice.
Sample Total-Cost Scenarios
Because several fees are unpublished, the honest way to model total cost is by scenario rather than a single invented number. The table below uses only confirmed figures and flags the rest as variables.
| Scenario | Confirmed Costs | Variables to Verify |
|---|---|---|
| Pass on the first attempt, employer-provided proctor | $398 bundle | Any member discount; proctor arrangement |
| Pass on the first attempt, independent proctor | $398 bundle | Proctor fee, if any |
| Need one retake | $398 bundle | Retake fee (unverified); proctor fee |
| Need both retakes | $398 bundle | Two retake fees (unverified); proctor fees |
| Long-term: first renewal at year five | $102 renewal fee | Cost of earning 50 recertification points |
In every scenario, the $398 bundle and the $102 renewal are the only two numbers verified in the current official product listing. Everything else is a variable that depends on your proctor, your employer and the issuer's current policies.
Getting Your Employer to Pay
Hotels, resorts, convention properties and other lodging operations have a direct interest in a sales team that understands market segmentation, revenue management and group sales. That makes the CHSP a reasonable candidate for professional-development reimbursement. A few ways to make the case:
- Tie it to revenue topics. Revenue Management, Marketing to Meeting Planners and Marketing Catered Events and Meeting Rooms map directly onto the group and catering business many properties depend on.
- Offer to document the benefit. Propose sharing what you learn with colleagues, which spreads the return on the $398.
- Ask about the proctor. If your company can supply an approved proctor, you remove an unpublished cost and a scheduling headache at once.
- Raise renewal early. Agree up front whether the company will also cover the $102 renewal in five years, since you will be carrying the credential on its behalf.
If you are still deciding whether to pursue the credential, our overviews of CHSP certification and what CHSP is explain the credential, and CHSP jobs shows the types of roles where it appears. Remember that CHSP here means the Certified Hospitality Sales Professional credential specifically; other certifications share the acronym but are unrelated to hospitality sales.
Key Takeaway
Budget for the confirmed $398 bundle and the $102 five-year renewal, then add a contingency for the unverified retake and proctor costs. Confirm every final number on the AHLEI checkout page and with your proctor before paying.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current official AHLEI bundle, which includes the application, the online study guide and the exam, is listed at USD $398. Member versus non-member pricing and an exam-only price are not publicly disclosed, so verify the final amount at checkout.
The program allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval, but the retake fee is not verified. Treat retakes as a separate, unconfirmed cost and check the current fee with the issuer.
The current official renewal fee is USD $102 on a five-year cycle. Renewal also requires 50 recertification points within five years, repeating every five years thereafter. Those points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours.
A proctor is required, but the issuer does not publish proctor fees or detailed remote-proctor rules. Ask your employer or a prospective proctor about any charge and about permitted materials before you schedule.
No universal training-hour requirement has been verified. The roughly 40 hours of self-paced review material describes study time, not a mandatory minimum, and a provider's twelve-hour course is not a universal requirement.