- What "Qualifying" Actually Means for the CHSP
- The Core Eligibility Rules
- How Credentials and Degrees Shorten the Time Requirement
- What the CHSP Does Not Require
- From Application to Exam: How the Bundle Works
- What You Qualify to Sit: Exam Format and Scoring
- Content Readiness: The 14 Competencies You Should Command
- Planning Your Preparation Around Your Job Duties
- Retakes, Renewal and Keeping the Credential Current
- Who Typically Pursues the CHSP
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Eligibility centers on duties: at least 50% of your work must be in qualifying hospitality sales, plus six months in position.
- A Supervisor, Manager, Department Head or Executive Certification eliminates the time requirement; an accredited academic degree eliminates the six months.
- Time reductions never waive the qualifying-duties rule or application approval.
- The official bundle (application, online study guide and exam) is currently USD $398, and a proctor is required.
What "Qualifying" Actually Means for the CHSP
The Certified Hospitality Sales Professional credential is administered by AHLEI and endorsed by AHLA. Unlike many professional certifications, it does not gate entry behind a long checklist of degrees, training hours or reference letters. Instead, it asks a simpler question: is selling hospitality products and services a real, substantial part of your job today?
That framing matters because it changes how you should evaluate yourself. Many candidates assume they need a hospitality management degree or years of sales tenure. In reality, the issuer's current eligibility rule is built around the proportion of your duties and a short time-in-position threshold. If you are unsure whether your role counts, the most useful exercise is to map your actual weekly tasks against the topics the credential covers: marketing plans, selling to business and leisure travelers, working with travel agents and meeting planners, reservations, revenue management, personal and telephone sales, and marketing catered events and meeting rooms.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, our overview What Is CHSP Certification? covers the basics before you dive into eligibility specifics.
The Core Eligibility Rules
Per the current global issuer product, the baseline requirements are two-part:
- Duties: At least 50% of your duties must be in qualifying hospitality sales.
- Time in position: Six months in that position.
What counts as hospitality sales work
The credential's content areas give you a practical lens. Activities that map to the 14 competencies include:
- Contributing to or executing a marketing plan for a property or venue
- Soliciting and servicing business travelers, leisure travelers, travel agents and meeting planners
- Marketing to special segments
- Handling reservations as part of a sales process
- Applying revenue management thinking to pricing and inventory decisions
- Conducting personal (face-to-face) and telephone sales
- Promoting the property internally to colleagues and guests
- Selling catered events and meeting rooms
Roles that commonly line up with this work include sales coordinators, sales managers, catering sales roles, reservations and revenue-oriented positions, and front-line staff with meaningful selling responsibilities. We explore the hiring landscape further in CHSP Jobs.
How Credentials and Degrees Shorten the Time Requirement
The six-month requirement is not rigid for everyone. The current issuer program provides two ways to reduce or eliminate the time component:
| If you hold... | Effect on the time requirement | What is NOT waived |
|---|---|---|
| A Supervisor, Manager, Department Head or Executive Certification | The time-in-position requirement is eliminated | The qualifying-duties rule and application approval |
| An accredited academic degree | The six-month requirement is eliminated | The qualifying-duties rule and application approval |
| Neither | Standard six months in position applies | Nothing waived; both rules apply in full |
Key Takeaway
Think of these as time shortcuts, not eligibility shortcuts. Even with a qualifying credential or degree, you still need to spend at least half your duties in qualifying hospitality sales, and your application still has to be approved. Do not purchase on the assumption that a degree alone qualifies you.
What the CHSP Does Not Require
Candidates often arrive with assumptions borrowed from other certifications. Based on the current verified issuer information, the following are not universal requirements:
- A specific degree: No universal degree requirement has been verified.
- A set number of experience hours: Eligibility is expressed as a duties percentage plus six months, not an hours log.
- Mandatory training hours: No universal training-hour minimum is verified. The roughly 40 hours of self-paced review material associated with the program describes study time, not a prerequisite and not exam duration.
- A fixed number of professional references: No universal reference-count requirement has been verified.
A related point of confusion: some providers sell instructor-led courses, including a twelve-hour format. That is a provider offering, not a universal minimum. You should treat any outside course as optional preparation unless the issuer's current program says otherwise. For a closer look at preparation options, see CHSP Training.
From Application to Exam: How the Bundle Works
The CHSP is delivered through ExamFlex, with online or print delivery and an approved proctor. The current official offering is a single bundle that includes the application, the online study guide and the exam.
| Element | What the current issuer product specifies |
|---|---|
| Bundle contents | Application, online study guide and exam |
| Current bundle price | USD $398 |
| Delivery | ExamFlex, online or print |
| Proctor | Required (approved proctor) |
| Member vs. non-member pricing | Split not disclosed |
| Exam-only price | Not disclosed |
Two cost details deserve a caution. First, the member and non-member price split is not publicly disclosed, so do not assume a discount applies to you. Second, an exam-only price is not disclosed, so budget around the full bundle unless the issuer tells you otherwise. Because the retake fee is also unverified, confirm it directly with the issuer before you rely on a retake plan. Our full breakdown is in CHSP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Arranging your proctor early
A proctor is required, so line one up before you plan an exam date. Detailed remote-proctoring rules, along with policies on calculators and open-book use, have not been verified, so confirm them with the issuer rather than relying on assumptions. For scheduling considerations, see CHSP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
What You Qualify to Sit: Exam Format and Scoring
Understanding the exam you are qualifying for helps you decide whether to apply now or build more experience first. The current global issuer product specifies:
- 100 questions
- 2 hours
- 70% passing score
- A required proctor
Several details are simply not published. The current item format is not specified by this product, and older descriptions of multiple-choice questions are not treated as current verification. The scored versus unscored question split and the observed pass rate are also not disclosed, so any pass-rate figure you see quoted informally should be treated with caution. Our analysis of what is and is not known appears in CHSP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, and the scoring threshold is covered in CHSP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Content Readiness: The 14 Competencies You Should Command
Eligibility gets you in the door; content knowledge gets you through it. The issuer publishes fourteen competency headings, organized as subordinate topics under two parent groups. These are not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, but they are the best map of what the program covers. The structure is fourteen topics, not sixteen, and the two group headings are not additional topics.
Group 1: Markets and Market Segments (Topics 1-7)
The first seven topics establish how hospitality businesses identify and win different customer groups.
- Introduction to Hospitality Marketing and Sales
- The Marketing Plan: The Cornerstone of Sales
- Marketing to Business Travelers
- Marketing to Leisure Travelers
- Marketing to Travel Agents
- Marketing to Meeting Planners
- Marketing to Special Segments
Group 2: Sales Functions (Topics 8-14)
The final seven topics cover the operational and interpersonal mechanics of selling.
- Managing the Marketing and Sales Office
- Reservations
- Revenue Management
- Personal Sales
- Telephone Sales
- Internal Marketing and Sales
- Marketing Catered Events and Meeting Rooms
A useful self-check before you apply: for each of the 14 topics, ask whether you have hands-on exposure at work. If your job touches only a few, that does not disqualify you, but it tells you where to spend your study time. A deeper explanation of each area is in CHSP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 14 Content Areas.
Where experience helps most
Candidates who already work in sales offices tend to find Managing the Marketing and Sales Office, Personal Sales and Telephone Sales intuitive. Those who come from reservations may be strongest on Reservations and Revenue Management but need to build knowledge of Marketing to Meeting Planners and Marketing Catered Events and Meeting Rooms. Neither profile is disqualifying; both simply shape your study plan.
Planning Your Preparation Around Your Job Duties
Rather than a generic schedule, sequence your preparation by the gap between your daily work and the 14 topics. The approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material gives you a rough sense of the study load, though it is not a mandatory minimum.
Foundations and Planning
- Introduction to Hospitality Marketing and Sales
- The Marketing Plan: The Cornerstone of Sales, which anchors later topics
Customer Segments
- Business travelers, leisure travelers, travel agents
- Meeting planners and special segments, especially if outside your daily role
Operations and Pricing
- Managing the Marketing and Sales Office
- Reservations and Revenue Management
Selling Skills and Events
- Personal Sales and Telephone Sales
- Internal Marketing and Sales; Marketing Catered Events and Meeting Rooms
Place the planning topic early because the segment and function topics build on it. Weak areas deserve extra repetition, while topics you handle daily can be reviewed more lightly. For a fuller preparation framework, see CHSP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for a quick fact review use the CHSP Cheat Sheet 2026. When you want to test yourself against realistic questions, try the CHSP practice tests.
Retakes, Renewal and Keeping the Credential Current
Retake allowance
The current global issuer product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. Note the clock: it runs from approval of your application, not from your first exam attempt. The current retake fee remains unverified, so confirm it before you plan around it.
Five-year renewal
The credential is renewed on a five-year cycle through professional development. The current official renewal fee is USD $102. Current issuer renewal guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. Those points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, and detailed evidence rules should be taken from the current issuer program rather than assumed. Build the habit of logging qualifying activities as you complete them, since reconstructing five years of development later is far harder.
Who Typically Pursues the CHSP
Because eligibility is tied to hospitality sales duties, the natural audience includes people already working in or moving toward roles such as sales coordinator, group or catering sales manager, reservations and revenue professionals, and supervisors who oversee sales activity. Hotels, resorts, convention and event venues, and other hospitality operations are the typical environments where these duties occur.
The credential can serve two purposes: validating existing skills for those already in sales roles, and demonstrating structured knowledge for those expanding into sales from adjacent hospitality positions. For earnings context, we avoid unsupported figures here, but you can review the discussion in CHSP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis. And if you want to gauge how demanding the content is before applying, read How Hard Is the CHSP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Key Takeaway
Before purchasing the bundle, run a three-point check: (1) at least half your duties are qualifying hospitality sales, (2) you meet the six-month threshold or hold a credential or degree that eliminates it, and (3) you have an approved proctor available. If all three are true, you are well positioned to apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
No universal degree requirement has been verified. Eligibility is based on having at least 50% of your duties in qualifying hospitality sales and six months in position. An accredited academic degree can eliminate the six-month requirement, but it does not waive the qualifying-duties rule or application approval.
Possibly. A Supervisor, Manager, Department Head or Executive Certification eliminates the time requirement, and an accredited academic degree eliminates the six months. In both cases, you must still meet the qualifying-duties rule and have your application approved.
No. A provider's twelve-hour course is not a universal minimum, and the approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material describes study time, not a required prerequisite or the exam length. No universal training-hour requirement has been verified.
The current official bundle, which includes the application, online study guide and exam, is USD $398. The member versus non-member split and an exam-only price are not disclosed, and the retake fee is unverified, so confirm those details with the issuer before budgeting. Renewal is currently USD $102 every five years.
The current global issuer product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The retake fee is not verified, so check it with the issuer. The exam itself is 100 questions in 2 hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor.