CHSP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does CHSP Stand For?

TL;DR
  • CHSP stands for Certified Hospitality Sales Professional, an AHLA-endorsed credential administered through AHLEI.
  • The official bundle (application, online study guide and exam) is currently listed at USD $398.
  • The exam specifies 100 questions, 2 hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
  • Fourteen published topics sit under two groups: Markets and market segments, and Sales functions.

The Short Answer

CHSP stands for Certified Hospitality Sales Professional. It is a certification aimed at people who sell hotel rooms, meeting space, catered events and related hospitality services. If you landed here because you saw those four letters on a job posting, a business card or an email signature in the lodging industry, this is almost certainly the credential being referenced.

This article focuses on exactly that credential: what the name means, who issues it, how the exam is structured, what it covers and how it fits into a hospitality sales career. If you want a broader overview afterward, our pages on what CHSP is and CHSP meaning cover adjacent angles, and the CHSP practice test lets you check how ready you are.

Identity check: The same four letters are used by other, unrelated credentials in other industries. Everything on this page concerns Certified Hospitality Sales Professional only. If a source mentions different exam fees, certifying bodies or renewal rules, it is likely describing something else.

Who Stands Behind the Credential

The Certified Hospitality Sales Professional certification is endorsed by the American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) and administered by AHLEI. Delivery runs through the ExamFlex platform, available online or in print, and an approved proctor is required. The issuer's public product listing does not name an external testing vendor, so candidates should not assume a conventional test-center appointment model; follow the delivery instructions that come with the official purchase.

That industry-association backing is a large part of the credential's value. Hiring managers in lodging recognize AHLA-endorsed certifications as signals that a candidate has studied sales practice in a hospitality context rather than sales in the abstract.

Why the Acronym Causes Confusion

Search for "CHSP" and you will find results about unrelated professional fields. That overlap is the single biggest source of bad information for candidates. Fee tables, pass-rate claims, exam dates and domain lists belonging to a different credential get copied onto pages about this one.

A quick way to sanity-check any page you read: does it mention hotels, lodging, group sales, travel agents, meeting planners or revenue management? If it instead talks about a completely different profession, close the tab. For the details that matter to Certified Hospitality Sales Professional candidates, the more specific pages on certification cost, requirements and the passing score stay tied to this credential.

Unpacking Each Word in the Title

Certified

The holder passed an exam and met eligibility rules set by the issuer, and agrees to maintain the credential through recertification every five years. It is a credential you earn and keep current, not a course completion certificate.

Hospitality

The subject matter is lodging-industry sales: hotels and similar properties, their guests, their group business and their event spaces. The curriculum is built around how hospitality products are marketed and sold, including the perishable nature of room inventory and the role of revenue management.

Sales Professional

The target audience is people whose job is actually selling or managing the selling function. The eligibility rules reflect this: the issuer expects a substantial portion of your duties to be in qualifying hospitality sales work, not just a passing interest in the field.

Why the wording matters: "Sales professional" is not decorative. The application asks about your actual duties, and approval is not automatic. Reading the title literally gives you a good preview of who the program is designed for.

The Two Groups and Fourteen Topics

The issuer organizes its published competencies as fourteen subordinate topics under two parent groups. The two group headings are organizing labels, not additional topics, so the count is fourteen, not sixteen. These fourteen headings are issuer-published competencies; they are not an official weighted blueprint, and percentages or scored-question allocations are not published. Our full walkthrough in the CHSP exam domains guide goes deeper on each one.

Group 1: Markets and Market Segments (Topics 1-7)

This group is about understanding who buys hospitality products and how to reach them.

  • Introduction to Hospitality Marketing and Sales - the foundations of the field
  • The Marketing Plan: The Cornerstone of Sales - how planning drives selling activity
  • Marketing to Business Travelers
  • Marketing to Leisure Travelers
  • Marketing to Travel Agents
  • Marketing to Meeting Planners
  • Marketing to Special Segments

Group 2: Sales Functions (Topics 8-14)

This group is about the operational machinery of a sales effort.

  • Managing the Marketing and Sales Office
  • Reservations
  • Revenue Management
  • Personal Sales
  • Telephone Sales
  • Internal Marketing and Sales
  • Marketing Catered Events and Meeting Rooms

Notice the logic: the first group is segment-by-segment (who is the customer?), while the second is function-by-function (how do we run the selling operation?). A candidate who works only group sales, for example, may be strong on meeting planners and catered events but thin on reservations, leisure travelers or telephone sales. Part of preparing is honestly identifying which topics your daily job never touches.

The Exam and Registration at a Glance

ItemWhat the issuer's current product specifies
Full credential nameCertified Hospitality Sales Professional
Endorsed by / administered byAHLA-endorsed; administered by AHLEI
DeliveryExamFlex, online or print, with an approved proctor
Official bundle priceUSD $398 (application, online study guide and exam)
Question count100
Time limit2 hours
Passing score70%
RetakesTwo retake purchases within one year from application approval
RenewalEvery five years; 50 recertification points; current official fee USD $102

A few things the public listing does not establish, and which you should confirm directly with the issuer before relying on them: the individual item format, the scored/unscored split, the observed pass rate, the retake fee, whether calculators or open-book resources are allowed, and detailed remote-proctoring rules. Any page that states those with confidence, without citing the issuer, is guessing. The pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said responsibly, and the cost breakdown separates the confirmed fee from the undisclosed ones.

The bundle also includes online study material. The roughly 40 hours of self-paced review content describes a study-time estimate; it is not the exam length and it is not a universal mandatory training minimum.

Key Takeaway

Treat the 100 questions, 2 hours and 70% threshold as the verified exam frame, and treat everything else about format as something to confirm with the issuer at application time rather than something to assume.

Who Qualifies to Apply

The current global issuer eligibility rule requires that at least 50% of your duties are in qualifying hospitality sales and that you have been in the position for six months. Two adjustments exist:

  • An AHLEI Supervisor, Manager, Department Head or Executive certification eliminates the time-in-position requirement.
  • An accredited academic degree eliminates the six-month requirement.

Important limits: these reductions do not waive the qualifying-duties requirement, and they do not waive application approval. There is no verified universal degree requirement, experience-hour requirement, training-hour requirement or reference-count requirement. A provider-run twelve-hour course, if you see one advertised, is not a universal minimum. For the full walkthrough, see CHSP requirements and eligibility.

Where the Credential Gets Used

Because the subject matter is lodging sales, the people who benefit most are those working in or aiming for roles such as:

  • Sales coordinators and sales managers at hotels and resorts
  • Group and meetings sales professionals who work with meeting planners
  • Catering and events sales staff who book banquet space and meeting rooms
  • Reservations and revenue-oriented staff who want a recognized sales credential
  • Department heads building a sales team and looking for a common standard

The credential does not guarantee a title change or a specific pay increase, and this article does not quote salary figures because none are verified here. For a qualitative look at how it can factor into pay conversations, see the salary guide, the jobs overview and the worth-it analysis.

Keeping the Credential Current

The certification runs on a five-year cycle. Current issuer renewal guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and the same requirement repeats every five years thereafter. The current official renewal fee is USD $102.

Points are not CEU hours: Recertification points are not automatically equivalent to continuing education units. What counts, and what evidence the issuer wants, must follow the current issuer program rules. Do not assume a seminar you attended qualifies at a one-to-one rate; check the issuer's guidance first.

Sequencing Your Prep Around the Topics

One CHSP-specific way to use your time is to order your review by how far each topic sits from your daily work, not by the order they are listed. Here is an example arc across six weeks, assuming you start with the official study material:

Week 1

Foundations and Planning

  • Introduction to Hospitality Marketing and Sales
  • The Marketing Plan: The Cornerstone of Sales
  • Why: every later topic assumes this vocabulary
Week 2

Individual Traveler Segments

  • Marketing to Business Travelers
  • Marketing to Leisure Travelers
  • Marketing to Travel Agents
Week 3

Group and Niche Segments

  • Marketing to Meeting Planners
  • Marketing to Special Segments
Week 4

Office and Inventory Mechanics

  • Managing the Marketing and Sales Office
  • Reservations
  • Revenue Management
Week 5

Selling Skills and Internal Alignment

  • Personal Sales
  • Telephone Sales
  • Internal Marketing and Sales
Week 6

Events, Then Full Review

  • Marketing Catered Events and Meeting Rooms
  • Timed practice with the CHSP practice test across all fourteen topics

Adjust the order to your own gaps: if you sell groups all day, compress the meeting-planner and catering weeks and spend extra time on leisure travelers or reservations. For a fuller planning framework see the CHSP study guide, and for a compact refresher near test day use the cheat sheet. To gauge effort, how hard the exam is frames difficulty without inventing numbers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CHSP stand for in hospitality?

It stands for Certified Hospitality Sales Professional, an AHLA-endorsed certification administered through AHLEI for people who work in lodging and related hospitality sales.

How many topics does the CHSP cover?

Fourteen subordinate topics under two parent groups: Markets and market segments (first seven) and Sales functions (final seven). The group headings are not extra topics, and the fourteen are not an officially weighted blueprint.

How long is the CHSP exam and what score passes?

The current global product specifies 100 questions, a two-hour time limit and a 70% passing score, with a required proctor. Item format and scored/unscored split are not specified by the product.

How much does CHSP certification cost?

The current official bundle of application, online study guide and exam is listed at USD $398. The exam-only price and member versus non-member split are not disclosed, and renewal is currently USD $102 every five years.

Do I need a degree to sit for the CHSP?

No universal degree requirement is verified. Eligibility centers on at least 50% of duties in qualifying hospitality sales and six months in position, with an accredited degree or certain AHLEI certifications reducing the time requirement. Application approval is still required.

Ready to pass your CHSP exam?

Put this into practice with free CHSP questions across every exam domain.